Faf du Plessis has attacked for half a century to assist the Chennai Tremendous Kings crush the Kolkata Knight Riders with 27 runs and declare their fourth Indian Premier League title on Friday.

Du Plessis’ 86 of 59 balls led Chennai to 192-3, total defending their bowlers by limiting Kolkata to 165-9 within the Dubai remaining.

Opener Venkatesh Iyer slammed a 32-ball 50, however the blow wasn’t sufficient to forestall Chennai’s MS Dhoni from a groundbreaking win in his three hundredth match as a T20 skipper.

Shardul Thakur took three wickets, together with two punches in a single, to injure two-time champions Kolkata who superior to the finals after 4 consecutive wins.

Spinner Ravindra Jadeja and Tempo Bowler Josh Hazlewood every took two wickets.

READ ALSO: IPL Assessment: 5 South African gamers who impressed on the IPL

Eoin Morgan’s Kolkata received the throw and voted to the sector, however her bowlers did not get a wicket over by the ninth and took a pounding in Dubai.

Ruturaj Gaikwad fell for 32 from spinner Sunil Narine, however Du Plessis sustained the assault to extend his fifty with a six amid tough assist for Chennai in a near-packed stadium.

The South African veteran smashed seven fours and three sixs and cast necessary partnerships with Robin Uthappa, who made 31, and Moeen Ali, who hit 37 with 20 balls.

Du Plessis was on the final ball away from Tempo bowler Shivam Mavi. Narine was the two-time Kolkata champion’s greatest bowler with numbers 2-26.

Kolkata began robust with Iyer and Shubman Gill making 51 and placing up a rapid-fire opening rating of 91.

However Chennai hit again with Thakur’s one-two punches in an over, together with Iyer’s key wicket when wheels got here off the Kolkata chase.

Chennai, winner in 2010, 2011 and 2018, stays probably the most profitable IPL franchises after five-time champions Mumbai Indians who did not defend their title this season.

Source link


Write A Comment