Indians second baseman Cesar Hernandez gained his first Gold Glove, and catcher Roberto Perez gained his second consecutive Gold Glove Nov. 3.

Perez is the second catcher in franchise historical past to win a number of Gold Gloves, becoming a member of Ray Fosse (1970-71). He led all Main League catchers in stolen base/caught stealing share, throwing out 69 % (9-of-13) would-be base stealers. Perez had an error-free 2020 season in 32 video games behind the plate and didn’t commit a handed ball for the second straight 12 months.

Hernandez is the primary Indian second basemen to win a Gold Glove since Roberto Alomar in 2001. He led all second basemen in innings performed (503.2), completed second amongst American League second basemen in Defensive Runs Saved and compiled a .981 fielding share by solely committing 4 errors in 210 possibilities.

Pérez was the one participant to repeat within the American League and was joined by seven first-time winners, together with Hernández. The others had been Seattle first baseman Evan White and shortstop J.P. Crawford, Texas third baseman Isiah Kiner-Falefa and proper fielder Joey Gallo, Chicago White Sox middle fielder Luis Robert and Los Angeles Angeles pitcher Griffin Canning.

Colorado Rockies third baseman Nolan Arenado gained his eighth consecutive Gold Glove and proper fielder Mookie Betts snared his fifth in a row on Nov. 3, his first with the World Sequence champion Los Angeles Dodgers after 4 with Boston.

Kansas Metropolis Royals left fielder Alex Gordon additionally gained his eighth Gold Glove — and fourth straight — in his last main league season.

Chicago Cubs first baseman Anthony Rizzo earned the distinction for the third straight 12 months within the pandemic-shortened season and fourth time general. He was joined for the primary time by Cubs shortstop Javier Báez.

Cincinnati catcher Tucker Barnhart gained for the second time and first since 2017. St. Louis second baseman Kolten Wong gained for the second 12 months in a row, six days after the Cardinals allowed him to develop into a free agent reasonably than train his $12.5 million choice for 2021.

St. Louis left fielder Tyler O’Neill, Atlanta pitcher Max Fried and San Diego middle fielder Trent Grisham had been first-time winners.

The 36-year-old Gordon introduced his retirement in September. He joined Corridor of Fame outfielder Roberto Clemente and first baseman Wes Parker (each in 1972) as the one place gamers to win a Gold Glove of their final massive league season, in response to Sportradar.

Gordon, Hernández, White and Wong earned $18,519 bonuses, prorated parts of $50,000. Arenado and Robert earned $9,259, prorated parts of $25,000, and O’Neill earned $3,704, a prorated portion of $10,000.

Perez’s 2021 wage escalated by $250,000 to $5.75 million, and Barnhart’s by $250,000 to $4 million.

Gold Gloves are introduced yearly by Rawlings. Due to the shortened season, the awards had been based mostly on the Society for American Baseball Analysis’s Defensive Index. From 2013-19, the index was about 25% of the full, with the remaining voting by main league managers and as much as six coaches per crew.

The Related Press contributed

Source link


Write A Comment