Mets to keep farm teams in Syracuse, Binghamton, Brooklyn

This picture from a Zoom press convention exhibits New York Mets President Sandy Alderson, Tuesday, Nov. 10, 2020. Alderson returned as staff president Friday when Steve Cohen purchased the Mets from the Wilpon and Katz households.

NEW YORK (AP) — Syracuse, Binghamton, Brooklyn and St. Lucie would be the New York Mets’ 4 minor league associates subsequent 12 months, leaving Columbia, South Carolina, and Kingsport, Tennessee, to be dropped.

Returning Mets president Sandy Alderson made the announcement Tuesday throughout a information convention to introduce Steven Cohen, who purchased the Mets final week from the Wilpon and Katz households for $2.42 billion.

The Syracuse Mets are within the Triple-A Worldwide League and St. Lucie has been within the Florida State League, which had been Class A Superior. It seems St. Lucie will likely be low Class A subsequent 12 months.

Alderson didn’t give the extent for Binghamton and Brooklyn.

The Binghamton Rumble Ponies have been within the Double-A Japanese League and the Brooklyn Cyclones within the Class A brief season New York-Penn League, which Main League Baseball has focused for potential elimination as a part of the drop of assured minor league affiliations from 160 to 120 subsequent 12 months.

Alderson stated Brooklyn will likely be a full-season staff. That might imply it might be a part of a reformatted excessive Class A.

Extra AP MLB: and—Sports activities

Copyright 2020 The Related Press. All rights reserved. This materials will not be revealed, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed with out permission.

Source link


Write A Comment